A Bible Study Method

It has been a blessing for me to teach a Biblical interpretation class here at Elnora Bible Institute.  The basic method of Bible study that I teach involves three steps: 1) Observation; 2) Interpretation; and 3) Application.

Psalm 119, a lengthy poem written in praise of God’s Word, mentions those three aspects of Bible study.

We must ask for God’s help in observing Scripture: “Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.” (Psalm 119:18, ESV)

We must ask for God’s help in interpreting Scripture: “Blessed are you, O Lord; teach me your statutes!” (Psalm 119:12, ESV)

We must ask for God’s help in applying Scripture: “Oh that my ways may be steadfast in keeping your statutes!” (Psalm 119:5, ESV)

 

Author: Daniel

I am a Christian who is seeking to build God's Kingdom.