Accountability

I have been reflecting on the importance of accountability. Do you have other people who can hold you accountable in your Christian life? In my own life I have seen the importance of accountability. I need to have other people speak into my life. When I do not have input from other people, my spiritual life can often become stagnant.

In reflecting on my Christian life, my times of greatest struggle and failure were the times I had the least accountability from other people. It is not my intention to minimize the importance of the fact that we will ultimately be held accountable by God. However, it is our duty as Christians to come alongside other Christians as they walk with the Lord.

Brothers, if anyone is caught in any transgression, you who are spiritual should restore him in a spirit of gentleness. Keep watch on yourself, lest you too be tempted. Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.” (Galatians 6:1–2, ESV)

I ask myself, “Who am I helping?” We all have struggles, and I know that I need people to come alongside of me to teach, encourage, and correct me.

Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap. For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life.” (Galatians 6:7–8, ESV)

I look back on the times that I have sown to the flesh and wish that I would have had someone who would have challenged me about my spiritual life in those the times. Again, I do not want to blame other people for not holding me accountable and I recognize my personal responsibility. But consider this verse.

So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone, and especially to those who are of the household of faith.” (Galatians 6:10, ESV)

One of the responsibilities of the Christian community is accountability. Do you see an area of your life where you are sowing to the flesh rather than the Spirit? If so, find people who can challenge you in that area and encourage you and hold you accountable to have victory in that area.

Do you see another person sowing to the flesh rather than the Spirit? I encourage you to do what you can to speak into their lives.

Accountability can take many different forms. While I do not know how to handle every situation, I know that we all need accountability. I believe that an attitude of complete accountability to God and our fellow Christians will increase the effectiveness of our spiritual lives by helping us have victory over sin in every area of our lives. I challenge you to find accountability in the areas where you need it and to hold other people accountable in the areas where they need it. We must be willing to both give and receive teaching, encouragement, and correction.

Author: Daniel

I am a Christian who is seeking to build God's Kingdom.