What is success?

Earlier this year I heard several messages delivered by Jason Reed. One comment that he made was this: “You are not called to be successful, but to be faithful.”

I think he does well to emphasize the importance of faithfulness. We certainly must be faithful in accomplishing the work that God has laid out for us.

Reed’s quote has led me to realize that the only way to be truly successful is to be faithful. We cannot completely control the results of our work. For example, a dedicated preacher or missionary may see very few people turn to Christ. Does that make him unsuccessful? I suggest that it does not necessarily mean that he was unsuccessful. If he was faithful in preaching the Gospel, then he was a success. Faithfulness is the ultimate measure of success.

Author: Daniel

I am a Christian who is seeking to build God's Kingdom.