The Nature of Repentance

It was a rainy Saturday evening in Chattanooga, Tennessee.    I was a college student at the time, and a friend and I were driving around the unfamiliar city.  We were traveling down a hill toward an intersection and the light turned red.  I slammed on the brakes, and because of the conditions my truck spun around.  When we came to rest we were facing the opposite direction.  We had made a 180-degree change of direction.

I think that is an illustration of the Biblical idea of repentance.  Some people seem to do a 360-degree form of repentance.  They spin around completely and then proceed in the same direction.  But repentance is to be a change of direction.  A person who has truly repented will move a different direction than they had previously.

Bear fruit in keeping with repentance.” (Matthew 3:8, ESV)

Author: Daniel

I am a Christian who is seeking to build God's Kingdom.